I’m Not Newsworthy or Famous, but Someone Wrote an Article About Me

I write about me, not other people

Christine Schoenwald
3 min readJun 26, 2022
Photo by Raul Varzar on Unsplash

Writing isn’t a good job for people who need total control.

If you’re scribbling in your journal or working on a rough manuscript draft, it's one thing. Still, if it’s something like a professional article or book, you’ll have to deal with editors, publishers, readers, clients, and other writers at some point.

If you’re a best-selling writer or celebrity, you may have more control than most, but if you’re a content or freelance writer, once you let your article out into the world, your control diminishes.

An aggregated article about me.

I like to keep up on what old articles of mine are being published or shared, so I often do a Google search on myself and was surprised to find a piece on Newsbreak.

I’ve been quoted in articles, tagged, and even interviewed, but never a whole article about me and my relationship with my mother.

It’s titled, “Daughter on having an unusual mom: ‘She doesn’t believe in me.’ The author pulls from an old Your Tango I wrote and fully attributed it, but also sneaks in some information from some of my more recent pieces.”

--

--

Christine Schoenwald

Writer for The Los Angeles Times, Salon, Next Avenue, Business Insider, and Your Tango Christineschoenwaldwriter.com