I Worked for a Sex Hook-Up Line

I leave this job off my resume

Christine Schoenwald
4 min readOct 27, 2021
Photo by Ahtziri Lagarde on Unsplash

Listening to people talk about sex or hooking up sounds like an entertaining and exciting way to earn money. Still, when I worked for a sex chat line, I learned that anything repeated enough loses its ability to thrill.

I have a great telephone voice, and wrong-number-callers continue to leave me messages letting me know how hot they think my voice is and how they want to meet me.

When I was starting out, I planned to have an acting career, so I took on many no-advancement-type jobs — in case I needed to drop everything for a last-minute audition, which turned out to be as unlikely as me agreeing to meet a wrong-number caller.

I've had many voice-centric jobs in customer service over the years because a Theatre Arts degree doesn't give you markable skills. Shocker!

I've worked as a long-distance operator, a telephone customer service clerk for a bank, and a ticket broker.

One of my least favorite jobs was as a phone rep for an ambulance-chasing company, where my duties included luring people who got hurt on the job and had Worker's Comp insurance to come in for legal advice. As aggravating and shady as that last job was, it wasn't boring.

--

--

Christine Schoenwald

Writer for The Los Angeles Times, Salon, Next Avenue, Business Insider, and Your Tango Christineschoenwaldwriter.com